The Nebraska Czechs of York organization was chartered on January 24, 2002 in York, Nebraska, at Union Bank and Trust.  John Fiala of Lincoln, state president, presented the charter to the new officers:  Jean Lamp, President; JoAnn Kuester, Vice President; Mary Jo Karnopp, Secretary; and Roy Krula, Treasurer.Additional charter members included:  Patricia Collister, Beth Gordan, Erma Jean Heine, Pamela Hromadka, Gary Karnopp, Lola Schall, Aloha Schmid, Helen Senff, Leon Svoboda and Don Votova. The group meets for monthly meetings and programs eight months out of the year.  They sponsored a queen candidate in the state pageant for the first time in 2003.  They held their first October Czechfest in 2005.

State president John Fiala of Lincoln presented a charter to the newly organized Nebraska Czechs of York in January 2002. Pictured with Fiala are club officers Jean Lamp, JoAnn Kuester, Mary Jo Karnopp and Roy Krula.

Don Osentowski was selected as Member of the Year for 2014 for his efforts in teaching others to play the button accordion at Czechfest and at Community Education classes. Don is shown here teaching at his workshops at the 2014 York Czechfest.

Each year the Nebraska Czechs of York select a “Member of the Year” who has made significant contributions to the club.

The recipients have been:2014 – Don Osentowski2013 – Ed Schall

2012 – Bernice Mettenbrink

2011 – Pat Carpenter2010 – Lola Schall2009 – Bill Drury2008 – Pam Hromadka2007 – Jean Lamp2006 – Sheila Kulhanek2005 – JoAnn Kuester